Annual Health Literacy Awards

Each year, the Institute for Healthcare Advancement recognizes people who have made outstanding achievements in health literacy. Award winners are selected by an independent group of judges.

Award Categories

IHA accepts nominations in four categories: Innovative Programs, Published Materials, Research, and International. Individuals and groups are eligible for nominations. Groups are considered as one entry.

  • Innovative Programs: Projects that demonstrate innovative, practical, and effective solutions to addressing limited health literacy.
  • Published Materials: Written communication (digital or print) that contribute to effective communication with those with limited health literacy.
  • Research: Studies using well-defined methodologies that further illustrate the relationship between literacy skills and health outcomes, cost, or disparities; or present evidence of effective health literacy interventions.
  • International: Efforts outside of the United States that empower people to better health through improved health literacy.

One winner in each category will receive:

  • Recognition on the IHA Conference website (group or individual photo)
  • One personalized crystal award
  • One $500 honorarium

Selection Process

An independent group will judge all entries and select one winner for each category. To qualify to win, the project must:

  1. Empower people to better health.
  2. Address an aspect of health literacy.
  3. Aim to solve an identified healthcare problem.
  4. Be current with a completion date within the past 2 years.
  5. Impact or have the potential to affect the greater healthcare community.

Click here to receive IHA’s conference communications!